Moroccan Tomato and Chickpea Casserole/Stew

I started 2015 totally resolved to dedicate more time to the things I love and less time doing things I felt like ‘should’ do. I planned to be totally zen, for my creative juices to be flowing in abundance and to set up a functional savings account. I wanted to cook more, try out new recipes, read more good books, watch less crap TV and sleep better. So far this year I have probably cooked one proper meal, read nothing but my instagram feed and still have zero savings. Good.

So in this awkward state of zero savings/money, I made this. And it tastes great, is super cheap and easy to make and highly nutritious.

For 4.

  • 2 cartons organic chickpeas (800g)
  • 2 cartons Italian passata
  • 4 small red onion finely chopped
  • 1 large red pepper finely chopped
  • 2 lrg cloves garlic crushed or finely sliced
  • 1 tablespoon tomato purée
  • 4 large handfuls of fresh spinach
  • 2 teaspoons ras el hanout spice mix
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Start by heating the olive oil in a heavy bottomed sauce pan and then add the onions, garlic, pepper and two tablespoon of water and cook until the veg starts to soften.

Drain the chickpeas in a sieve and wash them well before adding them, the passata and the purée to the cooking veg. Turn the heat down and allow to simmer, stirring occasionally for about 15 minutes.

Add the spices and season well before stirring in the spinach so that it wilts. Serve immediately with a dollop or coconut yoghurt and pumpkin seeds or a poached egg and some chopped coriander.

photo 1

Poached egg and coriander

photo 2 (2)

Coyo and pumpkin seeds

Leave a comment